Marvel movie franchise has been one of the most popular movie series in the recent decade. Every time a movie is released by Marvel movie studio, you can hear people talk about it everywhere. Marvel movies are fun, intense, exciting and very entertaining, that’s why so many people love them, and the movie studio can keep releasing new movies every year. From the first Iron Man to the recent The Avengers: Infinity War, to the up coming Captain Marvel, there is a giant, logical, and connected Marvel cinematic universe been constructed one movie after another. Every marvel movie is connected to others in some way, and they make another big story altogether. Maybe you only watched several Marvel movies, maybe you just want to start knowing more about the amazing super hero world, either way, this article can help you understand the marvel movies timeline and general construct of the entire Marvel Cinematic Universe.

Part 1: About MCU

The MCU, also known as Marvel Cinematic Universe, is an American media franchise and shared universe that is centered on a series of superhero films, independently produced by Marvel Studios and based on characters that appear in American comic books published by Marvel Comics. Every main character in the movies created by Marvel studio is based on a super hero portraited in the comic books. Sometimes the movie will also show the important events and incidents happened in the comic books.

Although some critics have found that some of its films and television series have suffered in service of the wider universe, the franchise has been commercially successful as a multimedia shared universe. The MCU has inspired other film and television studios with comic book character adaptation rights to attempt to create similar shared universes. The MCU has also been the focus of other media, outside of the shared universe, including attractions at various Walt Disney Parks and Resorts, an attraction at Discovery Times Square, a Queensland Gallery of Modern Art exhibit, two television specials, guidebooks for each film, multiple tie-in video games, and commercials.

Part 2: MCU movie timeline

Marvel movies timeline starts with the first film released in the MCU, Iron Man (2008). It began the phase one of films culminating in the crossover film Marvel’s The Avengers (2012). Phase Two began with Iron Man 3 (2013) and concluded with Ant-Man (2015). The films are currently in Phase Three, which began with the release of Captain America: Civil War (2016) and is set to conclude with an untitled Avengers film (2019).

Marvel Television expanded the universe further, first to network television with Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. on ABC in the 2013–14 television season, followed by online streaming with Marvel’s Daredevil on Netflix in 2015 and Marvel’s Runaways on Hulu in 2017, and then to cable television with Marvel’s Cloak & Dagger in 2018 on Freeform.

Here is a list of films of each phase in Marvel movies timeline.

Phase One

Captain America: The First Avenger
Agent Carter (seasons one and two)
Agent Carter (one-shot — Iron Man 3 DVD)
Iron Man
Iron Man 2
The Incredible Hulk
The Consultant (one-shot — Thor DVD)

Phase Two

Iron Man 3
All Hail the King (one-shot – Thor: The Dark World)
Agents of Shield (season one: episodes 1 — 7)
Thor: The Dark World
Agents of Shield (season one: episodes 8 — 16)
Captain America: The Winter Soldier
Agents of Shield (season one: episodes 17 — 22)
Guardians of the Galaxy
Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
Daredevil (season one)
Agents of Shield (season two: episodes 1 — 19)
Avengers: Age of Ultron
Agents of Shield (season two: episodes 20 — 22)
Jessica Jones (season one)
Daredevil (season two)
Agents of Shield (season three: episodes 1 — 19)

Phase Three

Captain America: Civil War
Agents of Shield (season three: episodes 20 — 22)
Luke Cage (season one)
Doctor Strange
Agents of Shield (season four: episodes 1 — 8)
Agents of Shield: Slingshot (web series)
Agents of Shield (season four: episodes 9 — 22)
Iron Fist (season one)
The Defenders (season one)
Spider-Man: Homecoming
Inhumans (season one)
The Punisher (season one)
Runaways (season one)
Black Panther
Jessica Jones (season two)
Agents of Shield (season five, episodes 1 — 19)
Cloak and Dagger (season one)
Luke Cage (season two)
Thor: Ragnarok
Ant-Man and The Wasp
Avengers Infinity War

Part 3: How to play high quality marvel movies on PC?

Now that you have known the exact Marvel movies timeline, I believe you cannot wait to enjoy all these amazing movies immediately. You can download these movies in high quality from some Blu-ray download sides, and then play them in your computer. To have the best watching experience, it’s suggested that you watch all these movies with a good media player. Here I recommend you try Leawo Blu-ray Player. As the best Windows Media Player alternative, Leawo Blu-ray Player can play movies in all video formats and play them with the original quality retained. Not only that, as its name implies, Leawo Blu-ray player can play DVD and Blu-ray materials no matter what region code it has.


Leawo Free Blu-ray Player 

☉ 100% free movie player for Mac users to play Ultra HD 4K, 1080P and 720P video for free.

☉ Free Blu-ray disc player to play 4K Blu-ray disc and 1080P Blu-ray disc, regardless of disc protection and region code.

☉ Support multiple audio decoding systems like Dolby, DTS, AAC, TrueHD, DTS-HD, etc.

☉ Adjust subtitles, video and audio during media playback.

Leawo Blu-ray player Is a 100% free program that you can download, install and start using within minutes. It has no hidden malware attached, no annoying ads and 100% safe. Powerful, clean and safe, that’s the main reasons I recommend this media player for you to try.


Today I introduced you the Marvel movies timeline. MCU is such an amazing movie franchise, if you are a fan of it, you definitely have to download and taste this franchise in a correct order, maybe you will discover something you have never noticed. When you watch the movies, remember to use Leawo Blu-ray Player to ensure yourself the best watching experience.